AN ENCOUNTER

I have been reading through the Old Testament lately, which I recommend, the Bible is so essential people, SO ESSENTIAL  to a knowledge and awareness of God! I have, in my reading, been again reminded of this profound encounter. I had this dream a few years ago but it has stuck with me. I don’t think I ever more related to the words of the prophet  ‘And I said: “Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts!”(Isaiah‬ ‭6:5‬ ‭ESV‬‬) then after this encounter. I did not see God, only the vastness of space and, what I felt was, His Voice booming through the void. Yet the sentiment is the same. If I am ever tempted to take liberties with God, this dream comes to mind. I still fail, I still find myself forgetting the awesome, infinite, glory of the The Creator of all. But the balance of his grace and his glory is central in my worship of him. For the incomprehensible  knowledge of the depth of his sacrifice in never more awaken them by an almost unattainable awareness of his  greatness and Holiness. He is all! He is all!

In my mind and soul,
I hurtled through the dark.
Stars and planets past;
My contrasting smallness stark.

Awe and fear gripped me,
In the seeming endless depth.
I had no voice to speak.
No sound to give breath!

A sudden violent stop.
I floated in the void.
Was this to be my end?
My nerves were all destroyed.

Out from the expanse,
A voice loomed. Thundered.
The fear that came upon me,
Tore me all asunder.

The words they pierced my flesh!
On HOLY ground I trod.
They bellowed through eternity!
‘I AM YOUR GOD!’

I awoke in a cold sweat.
Trembling head to soul.
Praising God almighty!
I was out of my control!

I believe dear reader,
That night I witnessed a sliver
Of the greatness of the Father,
Enthroned to reign forever!

 

 

Leave a Reply

